The OTHER Top 7 of All Time List

top 7 redhot

7. Frank’s RedHot Original (I can’t believe I forgot this last time)

 

top 7 helena

6. Helena

 

Nile Rodgers and Duran Duran

5. Nile Rodgers Producing Duran Duran’s Next Album (Rodgers was the producer behind some of the 1980s biggest hits by Duran Duran, David Bowie, INXS, and others, and he co-founded the seminal 1970s funk/disco band Chic)

 

top 7 without4. Trashy 80s horror movies and their accompanying posters

 

 

3. Japanese heavy metal guitarists named Akira Takasaki who are amongst the most incredible fretmasters who ever lived yet get almost no recognition because they don’t have western-sounding names. Even if you hate heavy metal, you have to be dazzled by this dude’s chops. At least watch the beginning and then the solo at 3:20.

 

Lost Moon of Poosh

2. The Lost Moon of Poosh Here represented by desert balls. I can’t show you the actual moon for obvious reasons.

 

Robin Williams

1. Robin Williams. Peace, brother. You were loved by millions.

15 responses to “The OTHER Top 7 of All Time List

  • Jill Weatherholt

    Franks Red Hot Original and Duran Duran, definitely in the Top 7. Robin Williams…he was in a class all his own. RIP Robin Williams. A true talent and class act.

  • nrhatch

    A fitting send off for Robin. He was Hot Stuff!

  • Richard Leonard

    Well that was some mood change at #1. RIP Robin. What a man. So hard to believe.

  • Jodi

    I prefer Franks Buffalo and now I can’t find any! So annoyed. Nice nod to Robin Williams, I was very upset when I heard the news.

  • Janna G. Noelle

    Poor Robin Williams. I bet most people didn’t even know he had depression. So many sufferers do so in silence.

  • Roy McCarthy

    Love the HM band and the Ozzie Osbourne soundalike. Slightly odd watching a Japanese rock band though, a bit like Americans playing cricket 😉

    • ericjbaker

      Funny thing is, the very first metal album I ever bought was Thunder in the East by Loudness in 1985 (yikes I’m old). Then again, I grew up on Chinese and Japanese movies, so my tastes tend toward the unusual as it is. Watching my first baseball game on TV was a more alien experience.

  • Arkenaten

    Hmmm, the band sound a bit like Queensryche. Can’t say I was overly impressed. Perhaps I’m getting too old. lol …
    He’s a very good technician, no doubt, but there were/are a bizillion axemasters playing this style from Ingwe to the late Randy Rhoads.

    After a while certain styles of playing begin to sound the same. I love to hear a musician and say, wow, that;s different and later be able to identify them by their sound/style or whatever.

    • ericjbaker

      I can identify Akira Takasaki pretty easily, but I’m much more of a headbanger than you are. My quick counterpoints: This is from Loudness’s 6th album, at which point Queensryche had 1, so the comparison should be reversed. Also, Takasaki was on his second album before anyone ever heard of Randy Rhoads and on his fourth before anyone heard of Yngwie, the point of which is that people should hold him in far higher esteem for inventing riffs and styles that others copied. Finally, this is only one song, which I picked for its sound quality and and for being live rather than a photo of an album cover. Dude has a diverse portfolio. I rate rock guitarists on melodic sense, ability to come up with creative rhythms, ability to come up with cool riffs, and, of course, soloing skill. Randy Rhoads is the only other metal guitarist of that era who covers all those bases. Most (Malmsteen, George Lynch, Kirk Hammett, etc) do 1 or 2 of those things well. Most suck at rhythms, I find.

      I think I also tend to like structured songs more than you do. I enjoy those fusiony tracks you post with the long improv jams and so forth, but I seldom remember how they sound after the fact. It’s wired into my personality to prefer orderly things. I’ve been tested! For real. I have.

      If you can stand one more, check out the wacky arrangement in this tune from the same album. You won’t hear many like it elsewhere:

      • Arkenaten

        Okay, I get what you are saying. I just wiki’ed him. He has been around, for sure. Impressive career.
        But, as a player, compared to Van Halen?
        I have no idea who copied whom or influenced whom, so if you say he did…then obviously he did.
        Still think Eddie beats most if not all players of this genre hands down,.
        I was never a great fan of Rhoads, and Ynwie had a limited shelf life.
        After a while all those chops sound the same. Woodly woodly.
        I think of this type of guitarist ( though Takasaki is much more head banger type) probably Satriani for me.
        Hey, we’re all different, right?
        I can listen to Jeff Beck all day.
        Some people think Clapton is the best thing since sliced bread!
        Not me…

        Heavy metal – Blackmore is enough.

        We must each post guitar orientated music vids now and then and see what strange stuff we can dig up
        from our musical past!
        I’ll reblog too.

What say you?

