Inside the Bloggers Studio

James LiptonIt’s late in the summer. People are getting their last kicks in. You want fun and silliness, not some long-winded (though thoroughly delightful and informative) dissertation on writing and editing from me, right?

Good, because I don’t feel like composing one. I’ve decided to burn off the summer with more frequent, less substantial posts. Yay! Who needs quality when you can have quantity?

Below are answers to 10 questions, as inspired by DeDeRants over at From Slacker to Scribe, who was in turn inspired by James Lipton, the host of Bravo’s Inside the Actors Studio and the only person I know of who can be sweet, charming, and creepy at the same time. I’m talking about Lipton, not DeDe Rants. She’s not creepy. She’s not really sweet, either. Hmmm.

For the record, I don’t think DeDe’s last name is actually “Rants.”

Anyway, here’s my self-interview, using DeDe’s questions, which she got from somebody else. But this is a blog post, not a genealogy report, so let’s get to it:

What is your favorite word?

Syncopation, because it’s fun to say.

What is your least favorite word?

It’s a tie between “Mule” and “Meatloaf,” with no hard feelings to the comically overdramatic singer of Bat Out of Hell fame.

What turns you on?

Compassion. And 1960s singers with sequined dresses and big hair. Preferably female.

What turns you off?

Racism and homophobia.

What sound or noise do you love?

Another tie!

1) The sound of a latex mask being peeled off to reveal that the real killer was, in fact, wearing a perfect mask of the person you thought was the killer, and…

2) A window fan at night.

What sound or noise do you hate?

A beeping alarm clock. I’ve literally had nightmares about that sound.

What is your favorite curse word?

Any variation of f***. Frequently motherf***** and f*** it, though for f***’s sake has been known to spill from my lips from time to time.

What profession would you like to attempt?

Distributor of licensed novelty t-shirts that reference 1960s to 1980s pop-culture oddities and artifacts.

Apropos of question # 3: Singer Kim Weston circa 1964

Apropos of question # 3: Singer Kim Weston circa 1964

What profession would you not like to attempt?

Waiter. I can’t remember what I ordered much less what other people want to eat. I’d screw up every order every time. While we’re at it: Drive-thru clerk at McDonalds may not be considered skilled labor, but there’s no freaking way I could ask one person if she wants fries with that while I’m handing someone else a Big Mac and $2.79 change. If I wore a hat, I’d take it off to those folks.

If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates?

“I forgive you for not believing in me.”

Your turn! Here are the questions again for convenient copying and pasting. Feel free spell out the curses. My blog is PG-13, but the comments section is like DVD special features: not rated.

What is your favorite word?

What is your least favorite word?

What turns you on?

What turns you off?

What sound or noise do you love?

What sound or noise do you hate?

What is your favorite curse word?

What profession would you like to attempt?

What profession would you not like to attempt?

If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates?

35 responses to “Inside the Bloggers Studio

  • Scotch Jameson

    Thanks for the photo of the elegant and hot oldie but goodie Kim Weston! Hubba, hubba.

  • change it up editing

    Love this! See my (very long-winded) comment at http://jillweatherholt.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/blogged-down/, and know that you are one of the “gotta read” bloggers I will never miss.

    Thanks for making my Friday night more enjoyable!

  • TracesoftheSoul

    Reblogged this on Traces of the Soul and commented:
    This is cool: have a try at this.

    What is your favorite word?
    Compassion
    What is your least favorite word?
    stupid
    What turns you on?
    Motown of my youth 65-70ish, Spinners, Temptations, Suepremes, Barry White’s voice in my dreams and on and on…although Marvin Gaye’s Sexual Healing is on my list of things to play at my funeral.
    What turns you off?
    Bigotry and greed
    What sound or noise do you love?
    Hairdryer (used to put me to sleep as a young child…my mom was a hairdresser and worked in our home)
    What sound or noise do you hate?
    Car alarms!
    What is your favorite curse word?
    F…..as a noun, adjective, adverb and verb in English and Tanernac in French
    What profession would you like to attempt?
    Legal advocate for youths in care by the child services
    What profession would you not like to attempt?
    Servant for any rich greedy self-centered person
    If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates?
    You get another try at this in the country of your choice

  • nrhatch

    As a perpetual fan (and writer) of “less substantial” posts, your decision seems a sound one. A good sound, like a window fan at night. Not a bad sound, like a morning alarm blaring incessantly at bleary blood-shot eyes ~ yours, not mine.

    Lipton is creepy. Especially when he dons a sequined dress (without even bothering to shave his beard . . . a dead giveaway that he is NOT Kim Weston).

    • ericjbaker

      Mmmm. A window fan. The only thing that helps me fall asleep. *^%$% central air!!!

      I’d feel weird being interviewed by Lipton, because he spends the entire hour gushing over each guest as if they were a Greek god. After 20 minutes of that I’d think, “Aren’t you going to ask at least one insulting question?”

  • songtothesirens

    I like the answer to the last question about the pearly gates. That is a great answer….

  • Eric Tonningsen

    I have a five hour flight tomorrow. This exercise (as well as reading others responses) will serve, in part, as my in flight entertainment. 🙂 Thanks, Eric.

  • Interview questions for fun | Traces of the Soul

    […] I am recopying this exercise because as a Reblog, I am not sure if I am getting readers motivated to consider adding these questions to your post for fun.  So here it is again, first my responses and then the questions you can cut and paste into your blog.  The original, however, idea and post is in the previous post from Eric John Baker […]

  • Jill Weatherholt

    Love this, Eric! I’ll keep my comments PG. In your words, “That’s how I roll.”

    What is your favorite word?
    Curmudgeon

    What is your least favorite word?
    Hate

    What turns you on?
    People who listen.

    What turns you off?
    People who never shut up.

    What sound or noise do you love?
    The ocean

    What sound or noise do you hate?
    A non-trained barking dog.

    What is your favorite curse word?
    Damn (said with a West Virginia accent)

    What profession would you like to attempt?
    Life guard (I love the sound of the ocean)

    What profession would you not like to attempt?
    Not sure of the official name, but the person who sucks out the Porto-Johns.

    If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates?
    Come on in, you’re good.

    • ericjbaker

      Aw, curmudgeon is your favorite word? You DO like me!

      I’ll bet if you worked as a portable-toilet vacuumer, you’d learn a whole lot of new curse words in no time and become comfortable using them. By the way, I am so blushing at your shocking use of the word “damn.” Really, Jill, what will the kids think?

      😉

  • nmartinez1938

    Wish I were gifted as anyone of the ‘Funk Brothers’ – loved this posting.

  • Janna G. Noelle

    Here’s my contribution:

    What is your favorite word? Wherewithal

    What is your least favorite word? Douchebag (why is it that it’s always things used by or relating to women that are used as an insult for men? Oh wait – I know why.)

    What turns you on? Knowledge, intelligence, and the opportunity to learn new things

    What turns you off? People who dominate conversations by taking about themselves

    What sound or noise do you love? Rainfall and rivers

    What sound or noise do you hate? People talking while I’m trying to sleep

    What is your favorite curse word? Bullsh*t

    What profession would you like to attempt? Driver’s Ed instructor (I’ll teach the whole world how to merge properly and to not hog the left-hand lane!)

    What profession would you not like to attempt? Ad exec (because the thought of trying to convince people to buy things they probably don’t need is definitely not for little old minimalist me)

    If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates? “You did my work in spite of yourself.”

    • ericjbaker

      Wherewithal does roll nicely. As for your least favorite word… I understand your viewpoint, but I think it’s the sound of the word that makes it satisfying, not what it means. It’s why the F word is so useful to me. It has an abrupt, hard tone that satisfies when I need to vent frustration.

      Goo luck on the driving instructor thing. I’ll leave that to you.

      • Janna G. Noelle

        Re. my least favourite word, I’m not so sure I buy that, for it seems coincidental to me that ALL the satisfying-sounding words used to put men down just HAPPEN to be those that emasculate them.

        We’ve talked about this sort of thing before: about how, when the default always favours one gender over the other, members of the excluded gender tend to experience the cumulative effect of it all differently than do members of the preferred gender.

        This is not a criticism of you personally, btw, but a commentary on society as a whole. I hear a lot of women using that least favourite word as well, which I find equally troubling.

  • Eric Tonningsen

    Reblogged this on Awakening to Your Story and commented:
    The absence of posts this week evidences my being on vacation. In lieu, a change of scenery from a blogger who’s work I enjoy and admire. I like his homework assignment and encourage you to play. 🙂
    I’ll return next week.

  • aswad

    Great selection of words. There is a site called favoritewords.com where you can add them and find people sharing the same words with you, pretty cool stuff.

    Cheers,
    Aswad
    aswadpaudzi@gmail.com

What say you?

