Summertime Blogging Blues

Hello! (hello, hello, hello)

Echo! (echo, echo, echo)

So this is what the internet sounds like when it’s empty…

astronaut

Do you have the summertime blogging blues? It must be so, because I follow about 60 blogs and, while a few hardy souls continue to faithfully plug away week after week, I’ve heard nary a chirp from most of you for almost six weeks. I miss you, but I don’t blame you. I got the summertime blues too.

It’s not like everyone is collectively on vacation the entire summer. I haven’t even left central Jersey, save for an airport run or two. There’s just something about this time of year that makes me not want to post. I jot down ideas and think, “I ought to write that tonight.” Then I ignore it until I forget the whole thing. Or until I find the note and wonder what the heck I was trying to scribble.

I located just such a scribble moments before writing this piece. The note says, as far as I can understand my own demented chicken-scratch: Nel pub nr wiy not good.

donkey 3Whatever it was, I’m sure it was so brilliant all your heads would have exploded reading it, so it’s just as well my handwriting on par with that of a donkey’s. No offense to donkeys of course. Really, any animal with hooves has handwriting equal to mine.

So anyway, my intent is to write two or three posts per week, because readership dwindles when bloggers don’t post, especially in the summer. In actuality, I only did four posts last month, which equals one every eight-and-a-half days.

I just checked my stats, by the way. I have six views today. For perspective, my old blog, The Anvil, which I haven’t touched since last November, has five.

Note to self: Blog more. And write legibly.

_____________________________________________

I feel like Captain Obvious with today’s music selection, but there’s really no other choice.

40 responses to “Summertime Blogging Blues

  • saminaiqbal27

    You are so right I feel the same. Summertime makes me lazy and when I start working on a post, it gets delayed and delayed. Other summertime activities take over too. I love the photo you have posted today. Weather seems to be changing and pretty soon we will all be back to blogging regularly. Thanks for the post, I thought I was the only one suffering from blogging blues in summer. Take care and have a lovely week.

    • ericjbaker

      I’m feeling decidedly unbrilliant these days, too. Hopefully the cold weather in autumn will blow out the cobwebs.

      Thanks for the comment. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has no summer writing mojo.

  • nrhatch

    HELLO . . . hello
    HOW ARE YOU . . . how are you

    THERE’S AN ECHO . . . there’s an echo

    Things sure do slow down in the summer, don’t they?
    When I’m in the mood, I write and schedule a few posts at once . . . then I go play in the pool. :mrgreen:

  • skywalkerstoryteller

    Didn’t have summertime blues past three weeks, just the moving and unpacking, and starting a new job blues. Start my night shifts tonight, and working on getting my production up too. Great hearing from you as always.

  • Dave

    Well, no summertime blogging blues here. I’m still working on blogging more regularly, though … not accomplishing it yet, but I’ll get there eventually.

    I do like the donkey picture, but I’ve got to admit I’ve never heard of “Blue Cheer”, nor their rendition of “Summertime Blues”. Growing up, the version I heard was by “The Who”, so I guess I’m partial to it 🙂

    • ericjbaker

      I’m a big Who fan (if you listen to some of my songs with that in mind, you can hear it), but there’s something about the Blue Cheer version that just works. I think it’s the proto-heavy metal vocals.

  • Janna G. Noelle

    I’ve noticed the same thing, although it’s not without its benefits, at least for me. I’m following too many blogs and am looking to do some pruning. Those absent bloggers that I find myself not really missing (assuming I’ve even realized they’ve been absent at all) will be the first ones to go.

    (For the record, I’ve missed you 🙂 )

  • ShannonRaelynn

    I have too many pages to write, too much grass to cut, too many berries to pick, too many books to sell, too much house to clean, too many lakes to swim in, and too many beers to drink. No garden and not much blogging for me this summer. I am reading more on WordPress though. I love reading blogs more than writing them! By the way, the tunes are great! I have to say ‘She Is Happy…” and ‘If You Were In my World” are my favorites. Great tunes for singing while riding around on my lawn mower. Have to say the thing I miss from CDs and records is seeing the artwork and reading the lyrics.

    • ericjbaker

      Cool! I’m glad you dig “If You Were in My World.” That’s one of my favorites. Here’s a link to our lyrics, if you are curious: http://fullblowncranium.com/lyrics/

      I miss berry picking! When I was a kid, there were acres of wilderness behind my parents’ house and heaps of blackberry bushes going begging. We used to come back with buckets full of the things for nothing but labor and time. It’s all gone now, thanks to the price of real estate in NJ.

      • ShannonRaelynn

        Thanks so much for the lyrics. They are often more important to me than the music because if I don’t know the words I can’t possibly sing along. My singing is bad enough I don’t need to butcher a song even worse by screwing up the words.

  • Jill Weatherholt

    Many blogs I follow seem to have fallen into the Black Hole. I must say, keeping up with all of the blogs I follow often feels like a full-time job. I think I need to not check the “notify me of follow-up comments” box because my e-mail is jammed packed every couple of hours. I like to read the comments and will often comment again, but it’s really taking away from my writing time…which is limited. I don’t blame bloggers for taking a break over the summer…wish I had thought of it. 🙂

    • ericjbaker

      I’ve been working on a freelance editing project that takes up a lot of time, so that has eaten into my blogging, and I’ve been doing a lot of ebaying as well. Trying to raise money for new drums and some recording gear.

      I know we, as writers, are supposed to maintain a social media presence, but it’s amazing how much time it takes away from actually writing. I’m really hoping it’s my turn to “go viral” soon, and not for any reason that’s embarrassing.

  • Raymond

    Because it’s always summer in Florida, for a moment I thought I was just writing terrible stuff (which may still be true LOL). It’s the same thing though that I see in my business marketing…summer traffic is low. Next year it might be easier to just combine forces for a few months…four or five people sharing the same stuff on their respective blogs.

    • ericjbaker

      Great idea. Count me in.

      There’s just a lower level of online traffic in the summer. I was doing gangbusters on eBay in the spring, but lately it’s crickets. I’ve also noticed a reduction in comments after online articles. Maybe I should go outside and see what all the fuss is about with all this sunlight and warmth.

  • Uzoma

    Keeping up with the bloggers I follow is challenging especially when I’ve been away from the Web for some time. For a blogger who has over fifty favorited blogs that he reads, the work is even greater. About posting: you’ve always posted quality stuffs here. For me, that’s what matters the most.

    • ericjbaker

      I feel especially bad about being behind on your story installments, because they are so damn excellent. it’s just easier to grab short snippets of blogs here and there, because there have been so many distractions around me lately. Of course, stories require a bigger mental investment on the part of the reader than a post about writing or a humor piece here and there. I hope you are going to post the whole thing in one spot when it’s done, so I can read from beginning to end.

      • Uzoma

        That’s all right, Eric. I suspect you were very much engaged, considering the rate of your postings lately.

        About my story serial … yes, I’d like you to read it — that is, when you have the chance to do so. Your view about it is very important to me as I intend to put it into a book sometime in the near future.

        • ericjbaker

          I still haven’t gotten used to reading long passages on a computer screen, especially since I spend so much time in front of one at work. Rest assured, I look forward to reading the whole tale from beginning to end. I wouldn’t want to miss it!

  • kriskkaria

    I nominated you for a couple blogger awards, details on my latest post, http://doesthishappentoyou.wordpress.com/. Yes, I noticed fewer people blogging away recently, too.

  • Bryan Edmondson

    “That terrible mood of depression of whether it’s any good or not is what is known as The Artist’s Reward.”

    Ernest Hemingway

    You are good at what you do. 🙂

  • 1WriteWay

    I know I’m experiencing the Summertime Blogging Blues after competing in Camp NaNoWriMo. That was killer, and I feel totally drained now. I barely have energy to reblog 🙂 And, like Jill mentioned, just trying to keep up everyone else’s blogs takes up a lot of time. I hope it’s just a summertime thing because I miss actively blogging. The energy just isn’t there right now ;(

  • mynamesnotannie

    So that’s why I’ve been slacking! The summer is almost over, and I have published only four posts. (That’s including one just posted today.)

    ::sigh::

    Been working on my blog reading, however, and that’s proven to inspire me lately. (Yours included.) 🙂

    • ericjbaker

      Aw thanks. I suppose it’s necessary to take a break once in a while so you have a chance to miss it. I’m still working on the “more frequent but shorter” approach. Other than the obvious requirement of creating worthwhile content, I think the best way to keep the clicks coming is to be short, sweet, and present.

      • mynamesnotannie

        Yes! I absolutely agree! That’s how my blog came about. I wanted to keep the creativity flowing and my fingers tapping.

  • wantonwordflirt

    I was hit with a nasty virus (yes, my body, not my computer) early in the summer which seemingly thrust me into a horrible creative funk for several weeks. I now seem to be coming back to life both physically and creatively, so hopefully you will be hearing more from me as the summer winds down. I too, plan on adopting a “more frequent but shorter” approach.

    • ericjbaker

      I could have sworn I replied to this comment already. Senility or technical difficulty. Hard to say.

      Anyway, sorry you weren’t feeling well and glad you are feeling better. I’m sure you’ve got a lot of words that need to get out of your head and onto the page, so get crackin’!

      🙂

      • wantonwordflirt

        I thought you replied before too…..so either we are both senile or was a tech issue. Let’s go with tech issue!

        And yes, you are correct – words rattling around that need to come out soon! 😉

  • Arkenaten

    Dunno how i missed this post. Everything I subscribe to appears in my reader.
    Maybe I should whittle out a few blogs and be more selective?

    Great pic. Prefer Eddie Cochran.

    Yeah…writing with purpose. Quite. Never easy.

  • Megan

    Summer does make me more lazy too, but I set a schedule for myself to get me moving.

    I also find it hard to follow blogs. I used to at work, but since things have gotten busy, I can’t check in as much as I used to.

    But I try to follow, check-in and update my blog as often as possible.

What say you?

