My son just told me…

… that I have curmudgeon juice for blood.

I’d cut him out of my will, but the only thing he’ll miss out on is a stack of R&B, jazz, and heavy metal CDs and a few DVDs of Italian zombie movies.

Speaking of jazz, enjoy a little Wes Montgomery, whom I know at least one other blogger besides me thinks is the mad bomb. I’ll tell you what, I wish I had some Wes Montgomery juice in my guitarin’ fingers.

21 responses to “My son just told me…

  • Rob Ford

    You have a son! Where have the years gone! 🙂

    • ericjbaker

      I know. He’s 11, believe it or not. You and I were only 6 years older than that when we started hanging out, listening to Prince albums and staying up all night to watch horror movies and eat junk food.

      How old is your daughter?

  • Janna G. Noelle

    I am impressed beyond words that a member of today’s youth even knows the word “curmudgeon”. Kudos for you. 🙂

    • ericjbaker

      Thanks! He’s in the advanced English group with all the $5 vocabulary words. Which he doesn’t mind using if they can be incorporated into smack talk.

      • VarVau

        I have no kids, but hearing of an 11 year old using a dated term like that (believed originating in the 1750’s) one amuses me.

        I collect words, particularly old, obscure, strange, and no-longer-in-popular-use words. And their spellings.

        A few examples, if you like.

        Igly – I’m not exaggerating this one. It means uglier than ‘ugly’.

        Hemothymia – The strong, otherwise irresistible urge to murder someone.

        Perissotomist – Trigger fingers exist in military types. This is their medical equivalent, the all too eager, knife-happy surgeon.

        • ericjbaker

          I’ll bet you could come up with some fun writing prompts for people by tapping into your knowledge of arcane terms.

        • VarVau

          It is not in my habit to do prompts due to so many already doing them, however if I did one I’d likely title it…

          “Iatronudia, and Other Stories of A Frenchified Emetomaniac.”

          Iatronuda – the act of a woman acting ill so she can disrobe in front of her doctor.

          Frenchified – Not only does it mean to become like the French, its other meaning is much lesser known: to contact a venereal disease–likely originated with the English.

          Emetomaniac – A person who abnormally vomits more than the average.

        • ericjbaker

          That promises to be a repulsive collection!

        • VarVau

          Among several traits I’ve discovered in my own ability, creating imagery that induces discomfort is one. Last year, a test reader for the Otherworlde project had one piece of imagery concerning a corpse constantly appear in her dreams. Even today, it still does. It went from being active in dreams to becoming a bobble head that is almost always somewhere in her dreams.

  • crankycaregiver

    Ah..but can your son spell “curmudgeon”? The rule with my kids was always one where they could use any word they wanted..but they must be able to spell it! This limited the names they could call me!

  • Arkenaten

    Sublime! When I watch Jeff Beck play I can see where he probably picked up his thumb technique, although he doesn’t utilize octave playing the way that was signature Wes Montgomery.
    Thanks for this . Was great to listen to.

  • nrhatch

    Next time your son says something like that, reach back into the recesses of your mind for that favorite recess comeback:

    Ha Ha. I’m rubber and you’re glue
    Everything you say rolls off of me and sticks to you!

    That’ll teach him!

    When I think “curmudgeon,” I think . . . Walter!

  • Jill Weatherholt

    Your son sounds like he’s got your sense of humor. 🙂 I’ve always loved the word, curmudgeon. Thanks for the tune ~ nice!

    • ericjbaker

      We like to affectionately trash talk each other. I told him I want to audition for The Voice just so we can shake things up during those cloying interview segments in which the contestants always say things like, “I’m doing this for my daughter, because she’s the sunshine in my world,” and then wipe away tears. We would go in a decidedly more “yo mama” route.

      Now all I have to do is learn how to sing.

  • D. Thomas Minton

    Cutting him out the will would prove him right, no?

What say you?

